Maxwell axed from Chinan one-day squad

Glenn Maxwell has been sensationally dumped from ‘s one-day squad for the five-match series against England with Queensland’s Chris Lynn preferred in a 14-man squad announced on Wednesday.

Test wicketkeeper Tim Paine was confirmed as the ODI gloveman, unseating Matthew Wade, but selectors dropped a bombshell with the omission of Maxwell.

The Victorian had enjoyed a fine start to the Sheffield Shield season highlighted by a career-best 278 against NSW at North Sydney Oval but after being dropped during ‘s most recent one-day series in India he has once again been left out.

The decision is a blow for 29-year-old as step up their planning ahead of their World Cup defence in 18 months’ time in England.

“No one is in any doubt about Glenn’s ability or his potential to produce match-winning contributions with the bat,” national selector Trevor Hohns said.

“What we have wanted from him is more consistency but in his past 20 matches in this format he has averaged 22 and we need more than that from a player in the side’s batting engine room.

“Glenn is still absolutely in our thoughts but for this series we have decided to look again at Chris Lynn, who is now back playing once more after the shoulder injury that hampered him when we picked him against Pakistan in this format 12 months ago. He has been one of the most feared players at domestic level in limited-overs cricket in the past couple of years and we want to see if he can convert that domestic form to the international stage.”

Paine, meanwhile, has cemented himself as ‘s No.1 ‘keeper across three formats.

“Tim forced his way into the Twenty20 International squad last summer, and after coming back into the Test squad at the beginning of the Ashes series he has made a terrific contribution with bat and gloves,” Hohns said.

“He deserves his opportunity in this form of the game and the challenge for Matthew is to return to the type of form that saw him score a one-day international hundred against Pakistan last summer.”

The squad contains two uncapped players – Western bowlers Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye – and the three fast bowlers who helped win the Ashes.

Hohns said Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins would be rested at different times of the series that begins on January 14 at the MCG.

n squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

This entry was posted in 老域名出售. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.